Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Savannah
Defense from a Quality Hit & Run Attorney
Were you involved in an alcohol-related accident in which you fled the
scene? If so, and depending on the facts of the case, you could be facing
felony charges and the possibility of imprisonment. As you can imagine, your future is
at stake and the single most effective step you can take is to retain
a reputable defense lawyer.
Attorney Robert F. Pirkle has been
practicing law since 1984, over which time he has prosecuted and
defended criminal cases. As a seasoned courtroom litigator, he knows the ins and outs of the Georgia
legal system, and he is familiar with the local prosecutors and judges.
In the face of
DUI and hit and run charges, you need and deserve the best defense counsel
you can find!
Hit & Run Charges in Georgia
Under O.C.G.A. 40-6-270, when a driver is involved in an accident that
results in injury or death to any person, or damage to any vehicle occupied
by a person, the driver is required by law to stop as close to the accident
scene as possible and:
- Provide their name, address, and vehicle registration number
- If requested, show their driver's license to the other driver or occupant
- Render aid to anyone injured in the accident, including calling an ambulance
or transporting an injured person to a hospital
- If an injured person is unconscious or deceased, make every reasonable
attempt to contact emergency medical services and the police
The driver must remain at the scene of the accident until he or she has
fulfilled all of the above requirements.
Consequences of Leaving the Scene
If such an accident resulted in the serious injury or death of any person
who knowingly failed to stop and comply with the above requirements, such
person shall be guilty of a felony, punishable by up one to five years
If the accident caused minor injuries to anyone, or if the accident caused
property damage to any vehicle attended by any person, then any person
who knowingly flees the scene is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by
a maximum $1,000 fine, or imprisonment for up to 12 months, or both.
Contact Attorney Robert F. Pirkle!
If you are facing DUI and hit & run charges, you are in a lot of legal
hot water. Attorney Robert. F. Pirkle has
30 years of experience and he understands how car accidents can cause one's adrenaline to
rush and how such intense moments can make it difficult to think rationally.
Regardless of the circumstances of your case, Attorney Pirkle can help.
Contact the firm as soon as possible to schedule a free consultation.